Project 02: ITC Bookman Specimen

Previous:

 

My type specimen book on Kepler Std definitely was not one of my favorite projects. I had a hard time with it because I kept trying to be structured. The original lacks originality and spontaneity (something I really wanted my type specimen to have but clearly lacked). It focuses on the types of succulents there are and has a decent ABC layout.

For the updated version of the book, I wanted it to REALLY show the beauty of a typeface vs the succulent form. I also wanted to bring in different paper mediums for this project and vellum seemed really appropriate. While I did have sketches for this project, a lot of it was just working out the details in the program. I had to match pages with the previous page in order to make sure the transparency of the vellum worked.

Looking at it now, there are a lot of things I wish I had time to add (little features and such) from my sketches, that would have worked really well with the vellum.

Set of spreads from first trial & error:

 

Second round of added spreads (trial & error):

Third Round (new typeface)

 

There are more pages based on previous spreads throughout the book.

 

Author: gharihar

Currently a student enrolled at Montclair State.

Leave a Reply

