01/30/17

My first week at Crenshaw as a design intern has been rather hectic. CC does not currently have a full-time designer who regulates their social media and other aspects of the job. Their social media accounts are in need of updating but how to approach it, I’m unsure of. As the sole designer for their projects, I’ve already been assigned a number of tasks related to branding and identity for several clients.

I only had two hours to make following graphs. I was informed to make 8 images, two of which could double as one image or separate images. They aren’t the prettiest images but it was an extremely fast turnaround.

 

They went through some versions:

advertisers_full_flippercent_full_flip

I had to use MR’s branding.

In the spare time I’ve had, I’ve been researching branding. I found a lot of information on branding which was a little overwhelming at first. I started off by researching questions I should be asking myself and the company in moving forward. CC actually had a rebranding not too long ago in regards to their website.

  1. Who are my customers?
  2. What customers do I want to have?
  3. Who are my competitors?
  4. What is my competitors’ brand position?
  5. What problem does my company solve? Does anybody care?
  6. What is my value proposition? Is it distinctive? Is it relevant to my customers?
  7. When people think about my company or product, what are the feelings and associations I want them to have? Are they unique? Can we “own” them?
  8. What are the functional benefits that we deliver to our customers?
  9. What are the emotional benefits that only we deliver to our customers?
  10. What kind of personality will my brand have?

1. CC’s customers are startups, and the occasional larger brand. Currently, they do PR for V2 e-cigs, an e-cig company based in Europe, Retale, a e-commerce shopping app & website, GetResponse, an email marketing software company, AOL (one of their larger brands),  and a few more. They are mostly tech startups or medium-sized brands looking for more recognition.

2. The ideal clients are tech-startups or startups that would do well in the tech-world. CC’s reach and networks are vast in the tech news media such as VentureBeat, Mashable, TechCrunch, etc. They do well with promotion in these areas. However, they have done beer/food companies in the past, such as Small Town Brewery (Not Your Father’s Root Beer).

3. I looked at a lot of different PR companies in the city. They all have design divisions dedicated to the craft. Here are a few I am taking note of:

how-pr-is-evolving.png

 

 

Author: gharihar

Currently a student enrolled at Montclair State.

Leave a Reply

