Project 06: Final Comp

For my final composition, I focused on the idea of forms coming together and forms moving apart. I like this because the viewer isn’t really sure which is happening, however, there’s an implied drifting of letters. The ‘ah’ and ‘ha’ are in areas that allow for interchangeability; almost in a square where it could be read as ah ha over and over and over again. Initially, the letters would have had circles as well. I got almost an underwater experience from the positioning, but opted not to go that route, even though it reminds me of test tubes and experimenting.

The invisible line used is a way to connect the letters with one another, like how many molecular drawings showcase lines to form a compound. I think the way body copy is really what grounds the letters though. I wanted the body to be more serious yet act as an lesser extreme of the letters. It took me a long time to figure out how, and even now, I’m still trying to think of ways to connect it more. I sliced the excerpt where paragraphs were separated and placed them next to each other but at an indent. The top line, “Letters are like molecules” had to be the hardest part for me to do. I wanted something inside the body to show the drifting, and figured that would be just enough to help my case.

06

Author: gharihar

Currently a student enrolled at Montclair State.

Leave a Reply

