My Collection (10/19/16)

This is the start of research for my collection. Honestly, I am a little lost on where to begin for this type of collection. After looking at my notebooks thoroughly, I decided a good place to start would be actually looking up what friendship is.

Because of the nature of this project, even though the notebooks are super hilarious, my friendship with her was not as hilarious in the end. It brought back a lot of feelings of nostalgia and sadness. Here are a few articles I read, I highlighted the parts that stood out.

Source 1

reading01

Source 2

After that, I tried thinking of different things I could do for the book. Construction paper… marker… I decided, paper crafts would be a nice place to start. So the initial artist I looked up, was of course, Kara Walker. Her pieces are just a bit too serious for this though, but it was a good place to start in search of categories. I looked up cut paper, cut paper illustrations, and looked at several books on artists who have done the style of cut paper I’m interested in.

 


 

This was one of the first books I came across. It’s a collection of cut paper pieces by several artists. Some of them are really intense and would probably take a lot of practice to come to fruition but some of them were really simple and spoke to the style of my notebooks. Some things to note, It made me realize to not rule out anything else in regards to paper crafts. I thought the idea of cutting out things, as well as raising items, is a really interesting thing to play with. Having cuts in the paper to see what’s behind it is really interesting.

 

The author of this book, Owen Glidersleeve, in particular, is very aquainted with the craft himself. He had a lot of beautifully pieced together pieces.

owen01owen02owen03owen04owen05

 

And Maelle Doliveux who did that amazing bible relief.

Author: gharihar

Currently a student enrolled at Montclair State.

Leave a Reply

