Get Local: Second Round Research

I felt my previous designs were way too generic. For the second round, i really wanted to embody the essence of the company. For this round of mockups, following Professor Jun’s advice, I asked myself to describe his company in one sentence. R&C Apparel manufactures garments for not only women’s fashion, but all kids of apparel; ranging from linens to accessories. Their key audience varies from young designers to accomplished designers to the everyday New Yorker.

Instead of focusing my design around an established age group, which the company does not necessarily have, I focused on what he actually does… sewing! It took me a while to get to this epiphany. My sketches really helped.

For imagery, I went through Adobe stock who have a large variety of images. I found images I thought were best suitable for the company without reading too etsy. They are a  NY manufacturer, busy, fast-paced, and have a ton of fabrics laying around. Below is the moodboard and the images I found would suit the company the most. Not all were used.

The swatches of fabric used are examples from the company.

moodboard

Author: gharihar

Currently a student enrolled at Montclair State.

Leave a Reply

