Speech Booklet: Text, Text+Image Research

For my text booklet, I originally wanted to do just women, however, I ended up doing civil rights for Women and African-Americans, as well as human-rights for African Americans. Approaching these topics was fairly difficult as I didn’t know where to start looking in terms of research. I checked out a few websites and the examples in class were helpful a bit.

I did my text to be BOLD and STRONG. If you do research into civil rights, you get a ton of posters that help shape my title/intro page.

You get similar images as well for women’s rights. However, I don’t want the two to seem on the same level. In many cases, white women actually wanted the power to vote before african-americans. These two topics varied very much.

I’ve done a lot of research on the topic of African-American rights in the past. Particularly because Emory Douglas, the lead designer of the Black Panthers back in the 1960s, is a favorite designer of mine.

A lot of the type in the Black Panther newsletter absolutely had to be bold and easily understandable. Many did not have time or weren’t literate enough otherwise to read the newsletter. It spoke through boldness and imagery. What words were present were empowering quotes that made a statement.

 

For women’s rights, other than the classic Rosie the Riveter, many of the protests featured similar signs as african-american protests. All are big, bold, and demand social reform.

 

 

Author: gharihar

Currently a student enrolled at Montclair State.

Leave a Reply

